Michigan’s CPL (concealed pistol license) application requirements state that an applicant must be:
- a citizen of the United States
- a legal resident of Michigan
- have resided in this state for not less than 6 months OR if you have a valid concealed carry permit from the state you are moving from, the 6-month waiting period is waived.
You are considered a resident of Michigan once you obtain a driver’s license, personal identification card, or register to vote. (see the complete statute for military residency requirements).
Michigan does not recognize permits from other states unless you are a resident of that state, so once you do establish residency here, your out-of-state permit is not valid for concealed carry in Michigan.
You will still need to take the Michigan CPL training course before you apply because no other state’s training meets the requirements of Michigan’s law, but you can speed the process up by taking the course before you establish residency.
Let me repeat that: If you don’t want to be without a valid license to carry any longer than you have to, you should take your CPL Course BEFORE you “establish residency here” so that you can apply the day you establish residency.
After you have filed your completed application, the approval process usually only takes a couple of weeks and no more than 45 days. More about the process here.
VERY GOOD CLASS! Dean did a great job. The setting was relaxed, friendly, and appropriately interactive. On the range, it was no-nonsense, safety first, with excellent personalized instruction. I benefited greatly from the training perspective of an ambush situation and the “balance of speed and precision” drills. I am a California CCW holder moving to Michigan so I’ve been through an approved training class. Dean’s range portion of the class was superior in my opinion as he taught us more “real life” tactics without the drill sergeant approach. When we move I plan to bring my wife for some additional personal training. – Jeff Holm